Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
An unincorporated association of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
Bro. Melvin T. Hargrett, Basileus
Omega's First Graduate Chapter - Established August 17, 1920
Verified Merchant Seal

E v e n  B I G G E R  - T a s t e   o f  O m e g a  - E v e n   B E T T E R
Saturday J u n e  1 3,  2 0 2 0 !
Taste Info


National Pan-Hellenic Council of Chicago - Scholarship Application Available
2020 NPHC Scholarship Application

Contest closes January 24, 2020!


2019 HS Essay

Pictured: [front row] Bro. Melvin M. Slater, Sr. (Scholarship Chairman), Jasmyn Richardson, Jaylen Greene, Jasmine Green, [back row] Bro. Melvin Hargrett (Basileus); Not pictured: Bro. Kenneth Coles (KF) and Bro. Rick Williams (IPB)


Iota Chapter fulfilled its responsibility of conducting the local level of the International High School Essay Contest. It is a mandated element of the Annual International Achievement Week Observance by all 750+ member chapters of the Fraternity.

This year’s essay topic was:

The US Census projects that the United States will become a majority minority country by the year 2045.  How can we combat, prevent and/or reduce prejudice, discrimination and violence in a new, more diverse America?


Bro. Melvin Hargrett, Ed.D., Basileus (L),
presents the well-deserved:


o IL State Rep and Immediate Past Basileus,
Bro. Rick Williams (R)



Chapters of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. celebrating
100 Year Centennials in 2020!

Iota Chapter (August 1920)

Iota Chapter is Omega's first graduate Chapter founded in Atlanta City, NJ on August 17, 1920. Iota was initially composed entirely of members who were initiated previously in undergraduate Chapters. Iota Chapter became inactive by May 1922 but it did initiate members who were prominent professionals in Atlantic City during its short existence there.

Subsequently, Iota Chapter was shuttered and its designation (Iota) was reassigned to the University of Chicago on October 12, 1923 as a city-wide chapter.

Iota Chapter was reactivated as a Chicago city-wide undergraduate Chapter in 1957, then an Intermediate Chapter from 1958 until the charter was suspended in 1983. Eventually the charter was reactivated as an Intermediate Chapter on February 12, 1995, then was returned to its original graduate Chapter status on July 12, 1995. The Brothers in Iota will be celebrating their centennial in 2020 based on the original Charter date of Iota (August 17, 1920) recognizing its full history.

Kappa Chapter (1920)

Kappa Chapter shares somewhat of a similar story as Iota Chapter. Kappa was founded at West Virginia State Collegiate Institute in 1920. However, less than a year later was inactive - with the Chapter name being reassigned to Syracuse/Colgate Universities on February 18, 1922.

The Brothers at Syracuse will be celebrating their centennial based on the original Charter date of Kappa (1920) recognizing its full history.

Theoretically, the Brothers at Theta Psi (which is West Virginia State University) could make a case for claiming their centennial in 2020 as well since its roots started in 1920.

Lambda Chapter (November 1920)

Lambda Chapter shares a similar path as Kappa Chapter but with a twist. Lambda was established in Norfolk, VA in November 1920 as Omega's second graduate Chapter. For decades the Brothers in what is now Lambda Omega have claimed they were the first graduate Chapter in Omega which is not true (and the Fraternity has corrected them on that claim). They can claim to be Omega's oldest graduate Chapter established with graduate members but not the first -  as Iota has that distinction.

When the convention "Omega" was designated for graduate Chapters in 1922, Lambda became Lambda Omega and the designation of Lambda was reassigned to the University of Southern California on May 3, 1923. So technically, both Lambda Omega and Lambda Chapters could celebrate centennials in 2020.


Iota Centennial Logo

University of Chicago - Keller Center
4th fl - Sky Suites Board Room

1307 E. 60th Street

We usually meet the 2nd Friday of each month from 7pm until 9pm. Brothers are encouraged to attend chapter meetings to fellowship, get informed, get involved 
and become financial. Iota Chapter is one of 4 graduate chapters in Chicago that comprise the "Chicago Ques". Links to each chapter's websites are below. We hope your chapter of choice is Iota, but every Brother is encouraged to choose a chapter home and become financial! As a member of the Fraternity you took an oath, and you have a responsibility as a member to be financial... and only financial membership has it's privileges!
"Excuses are tools of the incompetent, used to build bridges to nowhere and monuments of nothingness"

*** Fellowship immediately follows each meeting ***


Sigma Omega Chapter
Established October 1, 1923
Bro. Jesse L. Mathews III, Basileus

Rho Gamma Gamma Chapter
Established March 1, 1987
Bro.  Robert "Tony" Harris, Basileus
Rho Mu Mu Chapter
Established September 6, 2011
Bro. Jason Poindexter, Basileus

There are 6 additional graduate chapters of the Fraternity in the Chicago Metro Area. Brothers are encouraged to make contact if their location is more convenient.

Rho Tau - Gurnee
Established 1961
Bro. William C. King, Basileus

Chi Lambda Lambda - Matteson
Established December 7, 2004
Bro. Fred Arnold, Basileus
Nu Pi - Joliet
Established March 9, 1974
Bro. Kevin Iverson, Basileus

Theta Kappa Kappa - Evanston
Established 2010
Bro. Dennis M. Oglesby, Basileus
Mu Xi - Glen Ellyn
Established March 11, 1977
Bro. Daryl Hopkins, Basileus

Omicron Mu Mu - Lansing
Established September 6, 2011
Bro. Ricky Washington, Basileus

Epsilon Eta - Chicago State University
Established February 18, 1975
Bro. Akeem Williams, Basileus


C         O         N         G         R         A         T         U         L         A         T         I         O         N         S 

June 2019 Direct Scholarship Winners
Ms. A. Anderson -  Morgan Park HS $2K
Ms. A. Garner - Lindblom HS $2K
Mr. J. Powell - Walter Payton HS $2K
Ms. M. Savage -  Gwendolyn Brooks HS $2K
Ms. A. Wright -  Lindblom HS $2K

December 2019 High School Essay Contest Winners

Mr. J. Greene - Kenwood HS - $250
Ms. J. Richardson-  Kenwood HS $150
Ms. J. Green -  Lindblom HS -  $100

April 2019 10th District VREM Award
April 2019 10th District "Buy Omega" Campaign Award

Class of  April 2019 Golden Bridge Builders
Bro.  Charles Rowan
Bro.  Wilbur Pelt

$800 in "On the Spot" CPS Science Fair Awards
Byron J. Legardy
2019 Male Uplift Scholarship Winners
I. Kirkendall - $2K
T. Madison - $2K

Mr. Frank Brim
Founding Director - Garfield Park Little League

Bro. Ricardo A. Williams

Weather Feed

2019 Back to School Backpacks

Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events

1. Third in a series on, "Who Was First?" - Click here: FRAT NEWS.
2. One hundred seventy-nine (179) new Oracle's added with publication dates between 1922 and 2017 - Click here: Document Library in the IHQ folder.
Website sponsored by: