Skip to main content


Omega's First Graduate Chapter - Established August 11, 1920

HomeThe Districts

The History of the Districts


The history of the districts, and specifically the Talented Tenth District, represents the evolution of two organizational concepts now embodied in the present-day functions of the District Representative and various District Meetings. The first District Representatives were appointed by the Grand Basileus who was authorized by a constitutional amendment in 1922. The District Representatives were delegated the function of assisting the Grand Chapter in the supervision of chapters within a geographical area known as a District.

Districts were seemingly organized on the basis of states contiguous to each other, with consideration given to some of the amenities resulting from compatible regional and social relationships. The present district organization of twelve units reflects this logical development.

Besides supervising established chapters, the District Representative was expected to develop and expand the jurisdiction of Omega to all college campuses within the area. During the early days in Illinois, Indiana and Michigan the principal individual contacts between the Grand Chapter and local chapters or between chapters within the District were made by the District Representatives. With little, if any, funds from either the Grand Chapter or the loosely controlled District units, visitations depended largely upon both the dedication and affluence of the District Representatives.

The first step to strengthen the position of the District Representatives occurred during the administration of the 16th Grand Basileus, Albert W. Dent (1937-1939). District Representatives then became constitutional officers and were to be elected by the Districts at the annual meetings. Moreover, all initiations were placed under the supervision of the District Representatives.


The Districts Today
Omega is truly international! Websites to the Districts and the geographic areas that comprise them are listed below:
Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island & Vermont

Second District
Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York & Pennsylvania

Third District
Virginia & Washington, DC

Fourth District
Ohio & West Virginia

Fifth District
Kentucky & Tennessee

Sixth District
North & South Carolina

Seventh District
Alabama, Florida, Georgia & Mississippi

Eighth District 
Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North & South Dakota

Ninth District 
Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma & Texas

Tenth District
Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota & Wisconsin

Twelfth District 
Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington & Wyoming

Thirteenth District
Bahamas, Canada, China, Germany, Hawaii, Japan, Liberia, Mexico City, Panama Canal, South Korea, United Arab Emirates & U.S. Virgin Islands